Wayne State University

Aim Higher

A Law Student

The powers, functions and responsibilities of the Student Senate derive from the people of the State of Michigan through the Board of Governor(s) of Wayne State University and from the students of the university who comprise of a vital element of the academic community.

The Wayne State University Student Senate is a non-discriminatory, non-partisan representative body of students.  Its primary objective is to identify progressive methods, which can be utilized by all students to encourage leadership, uphold student achievement, enhance campus-community life through quality programming, and act as a liaison between students and the Administration. Student Senate is made up of 28 members, which consists of:

  • 14 Members-At-Large that are elected in a campus-wide election;
  • 12 School/College Representatives that are either elected or appointed by their school/college;
  • 1 Extension Center(s) Representative that is either elected or appointed by their unit; and
  • 1 Housing & Residential Life Representative that is either elected or appointed by their unit

Executive Officers

At the first meeting of a newly seated Student Senate, parliamentary elections are held to determine executive officer positions, of which there are nine (9) total. The Senate’s executive offices are as follows:

  • Student Body President
  • Student Body Vice President
  • Parliamentarian
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Director of Community Affairs
  • Director of Governmental Affairs
  • Director of Student Services
  • Director of Public Relations

What matters most to you?
Share a topic that you feel should be addressed by Student Senate.

Follow Us On: