

Wayne State University Student Senate 18 APRIL 2024

Resolution 2324-32

<u>SPONSOR:</u> Hayden Johnson (*President, Member at Large*)

A resolution to honor **AMAL ELSALEH** as a Member Emeritus for her involvement and dedication to enhancing student life at Wayne State University through her service on the Wayne State University Student Senate.

THE WAYNE STATE UNIVERSITY STUDENT SENATE ENACT:

- WHEREAS, AMAL ELSALEH served as Member at Large for the 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 terms; AND,
- WHEREAS, Through her service on the Wayne State University Student Senate, AMAL ELSALEH has contributed to the effort for securing a better student experience at Wayne State University in furtherance of the Wayne State University Student Senate's mission and purpose; AND,
- WHEREAS, AMAL ELSALEH has continued to serve as a mentor to her peers for what it means to be a student leader at Wayne State University; AND,
- WHEREAS, AMAL ELSALEH has strived to enhance her community and assist her peers in every initiative she has spearheaded and participated in; AND,
- WHEREAS, AMAL ELSALEH has taken on any challenge with grace and confidence. AMAL has continued to lead as an example for those on the Senate and shows what it means to work for a better experience for others without seeking recognition; AND,
- WHEREAS, AMAL ELSALEH's hard work has not gone unnoticed by those on the Senate and those apart of our great WSU community; AND
- RESOLVED, that the Wayne State University Student Senate recognizes and thanks AMAL ELSALEH for her contributions to the Wayne State University Student Senate; AND,
- AND FINALLY, BE IT ORDERED, that AMAL ELSALEH is now recognized as a Member Emeritus of the Wayne State University Student Senate, which entitles her to all of the powers and authorities of this status as listed in the Wayne State University Student Senate Bylaws.

MOVED to approve **AMAL ELSALEH** as a Member Emeritus made by Senator **ALI** AND **SECONDED** by Senator **CULHANE**.

FINAL ACTION X UNANIMOUS 18 APRIL 2024 PASSED FAILED VOTE DATE

VOTE APPROVED BY:

10

PRESIDENT: Hayden Johnson

SECRETARY: Rabika Ali